Kinect Hack that Puts You in Skyrim!

Would you like to play Bethesda’s epic role-playing game, The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim in virtual reality? Sure, we all do. Well, Chris Zaharia of Zookai actually shows you how it can be done. Disclaimer: Only the totally dedicated need attempt!

With the setup he describes you’ll be able to move through PC games such as Skyrim through Virtual Reality with items you can buy retail today, including Kinect!

“With this setup you will be able to move through the game and look around naturally,” Zaharia explains. “You’ll be using the head mounted display to make you feel like you’re inside the game, the head tracking will let you look around the world, the motion tracking allows you to move naturally in real life to correspond to actions in the game, and some basic speech recognition to do more abstract tasks such as navigating through a menu or initiating a chat with NPCs.”

Chris even offers a video and photos to assist brave adventurers. He also offers to help when he can via his blog.

We haven’t been able to confirm if this works, but I’ve brought it to the attention of resident wizards and I’m hopeful that they’ll take up the challenge. If they don’t I can only assume that they used to be an adventurer like you, then they took an arrow in the knee.

Sorry! I had to do it! I used to not use overworked memes, but then I took an arrow to the knee. GAH! Help me! I can’t stop!